Friday Favourites

 

top 5

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hello! I just want to start off this section of Friday favourites by saying, only picking 5 books/series is HARD! However, I’m going to give it a go. We might have to do a revised version of this section at some point in the future because there are so many amazing books just waiting to be read, and I’m sure it will change slightly. Anyway, I digress.

 

Let’s get started!

 

1. The Daughter of Smoke and Bone series by Laini Taylor. I initially picked up Daughter of Smoke and Bone because the American cover is one of the most beautiful things I had ever seen. When I started reading it I found that the writing and story were also beautiful, and I fell in love.

‘Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love. It did not end well’

This book is filled to the brim with world building. I could feel, smell, taste, hear and see every bit of the world Laini Taylor created; warm bread, scorched hand prints, fiery wings, rich spices, biting winds. I could go on and on. The connection you feel with the characters is incredible (and you will want to be friends with them) and if you’re anything like me, you will be shouting at the book as they go through different parts of the story.

It is a story of forbidden love told in such a new and compelling way that grabs you firmly and doesn’t let go.

 

2. The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien. This is one of my childhood favourites for several reasons. This is one of the many books I found while rummaging through the many book shelves at my Aunt and Uncle’s house. I started to read it and got about a third of the way through it that afternoon. I asked if I could borrow it and for the first time ever was told no. It turned out that it was a very old and special edition that was greatly treasured by my uncle. They did however buy me a copy of my own after seeing my enthusiasm for the story.

The Hobbit is a perfect fantasy adventure, following Bilbo on his adventures, during which he discovers The One Ring. One day I hope my son loves this book as much as I did.

 

3. Half Bad by Sally Green. This is the newest book in my favourites list. It came out in March this year and has had quite a lot of hype surrounding it. I loved this book. The writing style is short and to the point keeping the story fast paced and reflecting the main character’s personality. It is a story of Nature vs Nurture and trying to succeed when the odds are against you. All that with witches! Another thing to love about this book is that it’s set in the UK. I couldn’t put this book down.

 

4. Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson.  Tiger Lily is another more recent find, but it’s one of those stories that just stays with you and you know you will want to read it again. It’s narrated from Tinker Bell’s point of view – which added a twist to the story and showed the relationships of the characters in an (mostly) unbiased way. Neverland is portrayed in a more dark and menacing way than the one we’re used to, with danger around every corner causing the character’s to be tense and guarded. This made the bonds they form feel even more special. This book is haunting, alluring and heart breaking all at the same time. If you don’t mind a retelling, then I recommend this book 100%.

 

5. The Dark Heroine series by Abigail Gibbs. I’m sorry if this choice offends anyone. This series seems to have really divided people. *My name is Kiera and I like Vampire books.* These books were just pure literary pleasure. There are easy to read, have the stereotypical ‘tortured male protagonist’ and the object of his affection. It has its faults and it is somewhat predictable (the first book especially) but it really didn’t take away from my enjoyment. I liked the second book in the series even more.

 

 

So, that’s it! I would love to hear what your top 5 are, if you can narrow it down that far 😉

 

7 thoughts on “Friday Favourites

    1. Hi Shannon. Yeah, we would be open to doing review requests! Between the 5 of us there is not much we won’t read 🙂 You can either reply to this post or tweet us with your book choice.

      Like

Leave a Reply

