Friday Favourites

Laura's top 5

 

This week it’s Laura’s turn to share her top 5 favourite books of all time…

“Love them or hate them, these are the books that make me feel. Be it sad, happy, excited or just plain old comfy, these stories have a very special place in my heart.”

In no particular order…

Laura's Top 5

Twilight
Stephenie Meyer

I know, I know! I can hear the collective groans from here. But this book is beautifully written, regardless of what you think of the content or subject matter. It’s emotive and has real depth – this is a YA book dealing with some pretty dark themes; forbidden love, power struggles and death, and you still come out the other end unconditionally, and irrevocably, in love with a vampire.Although in my case it was Jasper, not Edward. But still…
Good Omens
Neil Gaiman

I’ll just throw this out there – this is probably my favourite book in the whole wide world. I’m not even sure what it is that I love so much – I can’t decide if it’s the characters, the storyline or the setting. It’s probably a combination of all three. As well as the sarcasm and dry humour that is abundant throughout. It just makes me feel good when I read it, like a big snuggly jumper that you still wear in summer because it feels so comforting.This was the first time I’d read anything by Neil Gaiman, and it sparked a bit of a fangirl sitch. I hope I never meet Neil Gaiman. It would be embarrassing for both of us.
Lost at the Fair
A.J. MacGregor

This is a childhood favourite for me and my brother and sister. We had a small hardback Ladybird edition, which was read to death. Even now we can still recite the lovely rhyming story. “Fast asleep was Dormouse Cottage, up on silent Sunny Hill…”Beautiful, innocent storytelling at its best.
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
J. K. Rowling

I’ve picked a specific HP book, rather than the whole series, because as much as I adore all of them this one has always been my favourite. It’s the first time you really feel that the fight between good and evil is much bigger than just Harry and He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named. It’s also the first time Harry is really a part of a family, fighting for a cause with wizards who were there with his parents the first time round. It’s full of mystery, heartbreak and raw determination, which makes it the first really dark Potter book. I love it.
The Night Circus
Erin Morgenstern

If you read my review a couple of weeks ago here on the bookspa, you’ll know that I have a warm, gooey place in my heart for this beautiful book.Read my reviewJust read the book. You’ll see why for yourself.
One thought on “Friday Favourites

Leave a Reply

