Friday Favourites – Book Covers!

Author – Laura

It’s a terrible thing to admit, but I quite often buy a book based entirely on the cover. Sometimes I don’t even read the blurb! It’s like a compulsion. Some people buy pretty jewellery – I buy pretty books. And because I’ve already written about The Night Circus and Good Omens in a previous Friday Favourites post I really had to think about this one!

I thought so long and hard that I came up with a huge list. So I had to narrow it down again, which was difficult as they are all so beautiful.

The Dark Heroine - Abigail Gibbs    Angelfall - Penryn and the End of Days – Susan Ee     The Green Rider – Kristen Britain     The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making – Catherynne M Valente    The Supernatural Enhancements – Edgar Cantero

The Dark Heroine series – Abigail Gibbs
These are really inviting – I noticed them straight away in the library. The covers are dark and whimsical – the font is soft and I love the muted colours. The story is pretty good too. It centres around the Prophecy of the Heroines, with each book featuring a new potential female who could be a Heroine.

Angelfall – Penryn and the End of Days – Susan Ee
Probably one of my favourite books – it would have been number 6 on my Top 5 Books post a couple of weeks ago! The cover is just gorgeous, and in the flesh the contrast between the dark and light is even more dramatic. As the title suggests, this book is about angels, but the colours give it a real feeling of darkness – the gold is splattered rather than delicately painted, which could be a reflection of the chaos in Penryn’s world. Or it could have just been a spilled paint pot…

The Green Rider – Kristen Britain
I chose this cover just because I think it’s a beautiful illustration – the artist sells the book with the picture, rather than using jazzy fonts or a weird arrangement of images. The book is the first in a series that follows Karigan G’Ladheon on an unexpected adventure when she decides to help a dying Green Rider. I’m still not sure if Horse is actually the true hero… It’s an exciting read for anyone who likes pure Fantasy.

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making – Catherynne M Valente
This cover makes me feel like I’d be going on a magical adventure if I read the story. It’s really bold and the main graphic is super stylish – like an old school fairy tale with a modern twist. This is Book 1 of 5 in a series based on a 12 year old girl called September, who escapes her boring life in Nebraska and starts an unforgettable journey through Fairyland.
I’m excited to get my hands on this one; it’s been on my ‘To Read’ list on Goodreads for a while now. I feel a little treat coming on…

The Supernatural Enhancements – Edgar Cantero
How fabulous is this cover? It really reminds me of old horror movies. The clean lines and precise illustrations make it really eye-catching. The tale itself begins like a traditional ghost story, but is told in a series of letters, diary entries, dream journals and interviews, which should make for a quirky and unusual read. I haven’t had the chance to bury myself in this one yet, but I have already bought it, based 100% on the cover. It just so happens that the plot sounds fantastic too!

 

4 thoughts on “Friday Favourites – Book Covers!

  1. Angel Fall looks particulary beautiful, I found The Girl who circumnavigated fairyland in a ship of her own making a few weeks ago in a charity shop and also was ensorcled by the cover, it is in my to read pile ( evergrowing), on the same outing I found A Discovery of Witches, now on the last book in the trilogy, and loving them. I had not really given a lot of thought to how influenced I am by the book covers, but The Bookspa ladies have given me cause to do so. My conclusion is that I clearly do judge books by their covers and am seduced into buying them! A bit of a revelation really.

    Like

    1. It definitely plays a big part in how I choose books, as much as the old saying tells us we should never do it. Lucky you for finding that book; I really need to start rummaging through charity shops, I know Kiera has found some gems recently as well! ~ Laura

      Like

  2. I do the same thing. Years ago as I aimlessly wandered the shelves of Strand Book Store in NYC (my second home for a while!) I actually discovered one of my favorite writers, Jorge Amada, strictly based on the stunning cover for his novel Tieta. I love the covers your chose, especially the Abigail Gibbs and Edgar Cantero selections.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think a lot of credit for selling books has to go to the illustrator, but how many really get the recognition they deserve? I’m glad you liked my choices, I think they are little book-sized works of art. ~ Laura

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

