Book review – The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

halloweenimage



Author-Hazel

‘Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.

It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.

There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.

She’s wrong.’

So as you can see, the synopsis of this book doesn’t really give much away. I loved going in to this story, not knowing loads about the plot, sometimes that spoils the story. This synopsis and the cover art gave the book an eerie quality which I thought would be perfect for a spooky Halloween read. I was not wrong.

As you may have guessed, Mara Dyer is the female protagonist in this story. Her feelings and emotions felt muted in the story but I think that reflects the mental struggle she is dealing with.

After ‘the accident’, Mara and her family move away for a fresh start in the hope this may help her. It’s in her new school, that she meets Noah Shaw. I love Noah. He is mysterious, funny, tough and gorgeous. But not your typical bad boy. The relationship between Noah and Mara grew throughout the story, (no ‘insta-love’ here) which I think felt realistic.

 

‘”Where are you going?”

“My God, you’re like the plague.”

“A masterfully crafted, powerfully understated, and epic parable of timeless moral resonance? Why, thank you. That’s one of the nicest things anyone’s ever said to me,” he said.

“The disease, Noah. Not the book.”

“I’m ignoring that qualification.”‘

The story is full of plot twists, there is never a dull moment. What I found most refreshing about this story, is there is no ‘clear-cut’ bad guy or enemy. This left me not having the slightest clue where the story was going.

The writing style is fun, easy and quick paced, which I love.

Overall, I loved The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. The plot is mysterious and intriguing. The characters are all unique, well fleshed out and individually written. The romance is sizzling with tension and the ending just left me wanting to read the next book straight away.

I recommend this book to those of you that only enjoy YA but also mystery stories with romance, paranormal and thriller elements weaved in. It’s a great Halloween read.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is the first in a trilogy.

The Evolution of Mara Dyer is out now and The Retribution of Mara Dyer is out in early November 2014.

 

image

 

Leave a Reply

