Book Review – The Ghost Files by Apryl Baker

It’s another one I picked for the cover!

image

Mattie Hathaway has been able to see ghosts since she was five years old. It’s not a secret she ever wanted to share, until she meets Officer Dan, who is in charge of the investigation into her foster sister’s disappearance. And a bit of a honey (in my head at least).

The Ghost Files is the first book in the Ghost Files series by Apryl Baker. Written in sassy first person, the storyline follows Mattie’s descent into the supernatural, and her dangerous attempt to figure out what happened to her sister.

Mattie is a stong, feisty lead, and you can’t help but warm to her. She is sarcastic and has some anger management issues, but underneath she is vulnerable and desperate to have someone she can rely on. Enter Jake. The gorgeous AND ridiculously thoughtful boyfriend who helps to soften Mattie’s hard edges. Just one of four potential suitors… Really? Does one girl need so many?
I’ll leave that to you to decide!

I really enjoyed this book, even though it committed one of my biggest bugbears – “could of” instead of “could have”.  Grrr. The storyline is fast paced and although it’s quite a casual style of writing you definitely feel the sinister undertones. The first time she meets Mirror Boy is truly chilling.

There was something not 100% perfect about it, but I’m not 100% sure exactly what made me feel like that. There was a lot of teenage angst and relationship woes (I think I am getting old), and I think the ending was a little rushed, but then it is only book 1 of a series, so I’m sure the story develops further in book 2. Which I bought immediately after finishing the last page!

I highly recommend The Ghost Files – it’s a YA that will give you the creeps and have you looking sideways in the mirror long after you’ve finished reading it.

4 Stars * * * *

Goodreads – The Ghost Files

Twitter – @AprylBaker

Leave a Reply

