Book Club Review – Requiem: Book of the Fallen by Adriana Noir

bookofthefallen

 

Author Yasmin

 

‘Mankind has failed. After economic ruin drives the world to its knees, darkness and anarchy reign supreme. In that darkness a group of damned angels, known as the Fallen, are hell bent on extinguishing humanity once and for all.

Seir, unlike the rest of the Fallen, is not interested in human demise or continuation. He has always been content to watch the world suffer from afar. Millennia on Earth have left him cynical, jaded, and unsympathetic to the plight of mortals, but when a mysterious woman seeks his help, he finds himself unwittingly thrust into what could spell out the end game between Heaven and Hell.

Within Ava lies an important key, one that Seir must protect in order to survive. The deeper Seir is drawn into the web of lies and deceit his comrades weave, the more he must confront his own tumultuous past.

The hosts of heaven are starting to descend, and some of them are none too happy with the choices he’s made.

As angelic and demonic forces clash, the world’s fate hangs precariously in the balance.

The time has come. The battle for our souls has begun…’

What most attracted me to this book for my pick were the Goodreads reviews. The story was described as dark and stormy in a world fallen apart, and having read a few series with the angel/demon story lines this seemed like it would take a different approach. Though I enjoyed the book it did fall short for me in some aspects. There wasn’t really a strong plot line, it was a very short read and the Kindle format was strange. I did really like the character development and the fact the book is all from the male point of view.

Seir is a fallen angel who starts off with no emotions. He doesn’t really care about anything until Ava enters his life. This is where you see the character development – Seir is starting to question everything he’s done and the choices he’s made; what’s really good or evil and that not everything can be defined as simply black and white.

Though the plot line wasn’t substantial the potential is definitely there for development, so hopefully that will come in the next book. The other characters surrounding Seir and Ava (both the good side and the bad), their different personalities and the things they stand for, as well as the snarky banter between them kept it intriguing enough for me to continue and to see where it could go in the second book.

 

Laura

I think the one word I would use to describe this book is ‘unsatisfying’. It almost felt like a prequel – not quite long enough to give you everything you want. Once I got past the really strange formatting on the Kindle version I did enjoy the story line and the conflict between what is perceived as good and evil. The lines are very blurred when it comes to the main character, so I hope his story develops further in the next book.

There was enough pace to keep me interested, and it doesn’t pull it’s punches in the violence stakes, so you never quite know who will still be in one piece at the end of the book. I read the story in one day, and I’d probably give the second book a go too.

 

Kiera

I was a bit unsure about reading this to start with. I’m sure everyone knows by now that my favourite book series is Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, which also happens to be about ‘angels’. So in my mind, nothing can ever compare. There was no need to worry from that point of view though, as the two books have a completely different take on the subject. Book of the Fallen takes a more traditional route with characters such as Micheal and Gabriel, but mixes it with dystopian world building and lots of violence! I liked the relationships between the characters and the repartee they had with one another. There were a few issues that were addressed in the story too; the author picks up environmental issues and how technology is changing our daily lives, and not always for the better. I feel like the story was missing a main driving force plot wise, and was a lot more about the character development than moving the story forward – up to you to decide if that is a good or bad thing depending on what you’re looking for in a novel.  Overall I definitely enjoyed reading this, and when the next one is realised I would be interested to pick it up and see where the story goes.

 

Hazel

Requiem:Book of the Fallen is a well written Angels/Demons story. Although the book did not grip me, it was enjoyable enough for me to keep reading. I didn’t feel that the plot was all that clear and most of the story felt like a character development exercise. The book felt like half a story to me and I think it would have benefited from more world building. I’m not the biggest Dystopian fan or a big fan of Angels/Demons stories, so I wasn’t all that excited to read this one but it proved a little better than I anticipated. Having said that I don’t think I’ll be continuing the series, it didn’t do enough to entice me and make me want more.

 

Antonia

I began reading this book a little unsure of what to expect. I found I kept getting distracted by the strange formatting on the Kindle edition. I found the first couple of chapters slightly tough going. After about the second chapter I started to get into it. It didn’t fully pull me in however, though it wasn’t a bad read. I found there wasn’t much to the story line. I felt they focused on the characters more than anything else. I don’t think I will continue to read the series as it didn’t leave me feeling as thought I wanted more.

 

Next months book is Laura’s pick – The Crown ( Queen of hearts saga, #1) by Colleen Oakes.

Leave a Reply

