Friday Favourites – Book Covers!

Author Yasmin

Beautiful book covers, don’t you just love them? Like many other people I do buy a lot of books for their looks. I can’t help it, I just like pretty things. But even if the book cover is amazing the story still has to spark an interest for me. So here are the top 5 covers I’ve chosen.

1. Alienated by Melissa Landers

This book for me wasn’t as good as it could have been. I enjoyed the story but it was definitely the cover that attracted me to it. I love it, the contrast between the lovely sunny day on earth and the dark glittering stars of space makes it a fave for me. If you ever watched the TV show Star Crossed before it was cancelled it is very similar to that. Aliens come to earth and are integrating into human society. This is where we meet Cara, as her school has been chosen to have some of the first aliens attend, and she’s been picked to look after hot alien guy Aelyx. But Aelyx is hiding the truth of why he’s really there and that could have deadly consequences.

image

 

2. Rae Wilder series by Penelope Fletch

I did enjoy this series by English indie author Penelope Fletcher. She takes you on a big adventure in a Dystopian world, where humans have walled themselves inside a huge compound so they can keep everyone safe from the demons ( fae, vampires, shifters etc ) on the outside that arrived after the great rift. Rae is a girl who knows she’s different from others. One day on her usual run through the woods she sneaks out to find everything has changed. The story and characters were good but I did feel there could have been more done to make it better; spell check and better editing would have made the story flow all the better, but I still enjoyed it and love reading books by indie authors. I really like the book covers with their pretty but simple colours, and the models on the covers are really eye catching.  I couldn’t find a picture with all the books together, so I chose the first one which has also been renamed Demon Dark)

image

 

3. The Artist Trilogy by Karina Halle

I loved this series by Karina Halle, but that’s not surprising as she is an amazing writer and I loved her other series. This is about con woman Ellie Watt trying to get her life back on track, away from the past and the things she’s done and been through. This story is dark, tempting, sexy and filled with betrayal, action and romance. I think the book covers are perfect and reflect the story’s content, and I like the dark gloomy colours used in the background.

image

 

4. Guild Hunter Series by Nalini Singh

I really enjoy reading these books, and I do like the angel theme, but I’m not one to go mad over it. Nalini Singh puts a good twist on the angel stories that have been done over and over. It’s set in New York, which is sexy and hard as nails archangel Raphael’s territory. Vampire hunter Elena Deveraux lives and breathes her job, and when Raphael hires her to help capture someone things start to get intense, with sizzling sexual attraction between the two. But the job puts her in the middle of a killing spree like none she’s seen before. I love the covers for these; so simple with the colouring and tattoo like wings yet to me they stand out on a shelf. There is more to the series but again I couldn’t find a picture with all of them in, except for the American covers, but I prefer these ones much more.

image

 

5. Fantasyland series by Kristen Ashley

I’ve only read the first book in this series, and although fantasy isn’t normally something I go for, I did enjoy reading it and going on the journey with the main character into another world. There’s excitement, romance, adventure and dragons; I love dragons!! And I love the classic look the books have; simple, pretty and eye catching.

 

image

 

 

Leave a Reply

