Favourite Reads of 2014 & Goals for 2015.

Author – Kiera.

Happy New Year! Can you believe it’s 2015 already? To wrap up our year of reading we thought that sharing a list of our favourite reads from last year, and our resolutions for this year, seemed like a plan.

 

The Razorland Trilogy by Ann Aguire.

‘New York City has been decimated by war and plague, and most of civilization has migrated to underground enclaves, where life expectancy is no more than the early 20’s. When Deuce turns 15, she takes on her role as a Huntress, and is paired with Fade, a teenage Hunter who lived Topside as a young boy. When she and Fade discover that the neighboring enclave has been decimated by the tunnel monsters – or Freaks – who seem to be growing more organized, the elders refuse to listen to warnings. And when Deuce and Fade are exiled from the enclave, the girl born in darkness must survive in daylight – guided by Fade’s long-ago memories – in the ruins of a city whose population has dwindled to a few dangerous gangs.’

I read the first book in this series in 2013 and loved it! For some reason I couldn’t find the next book in the series, until I was browsing a charity shop one day earlier this year and Outpost was sat there waiting for me. I think I did a bit of a happy dance. I got home, started it straight away and loved it as much as the first book! I then scoured the internet until I found a copy of the third book. Needless to say, I read it and loved that one too. For me this was everything I wanted from a Dystopian series. The world building is extensive and atmospheric. The characters have depth and you slowly discover their pasts as the books progress. There are characters you’ll hate, characters you’ll want to hate and characters you will love and root for. If you like Dystopia and are looking for something different, give this a try.

 

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

‘When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.’

I found this book to be an emotional roller coaster, but in the best possible way. You really go on a journey with the characters and I sat and read it from cover to cover in one sitting. Always a sign you enjoyed the book! I liked that you got to see different parts of the story from both Miles’ and Tate’s point of view and slowly uncover why he is the way he is. It’s also a steamy read, so if that’s what you’re looking for – look no further!

 

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

 

Half Bad by Sally Green

 

Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor

 

I’m not going to go into much detail about these three as I have already mentioned them in a previous post which is linked here – September 5th – Friday Favourites  (plus the girls might throttle me if I mention DoSB again. Sorry – not sorry)

The short of it is that these books are so completely different to anything I have read before. I found them to be haunting reads, ones you constantly find yourself thinking about months later. These will definitely be re-reads.

Reboot by Amy Tintera

‘Five years ago, Wren Connolly was shot three times in the chest. After 178 minutes she came back as a Reboot: stronger, faster, able to heal, and less emotional. The longer Reboots are dead, the less human they are when they return. Wren 178 is the deadliest Reboot in the Republic of Texas. Now seventeen years old, she serves as a soldier for HARC (Human Advancement and Repopulation Corporation).

Wren’s favorite part of the job is training new Reboots, but her latest newbie is the worst she’s ever seen. As a 22, Callum Reyes is practically human. His reflexes are too slow, he’s always asking questions, and his ever-present smile is freaking her out. Yet there’s something about him she can’t ignore. When Callum refuses to follow an order, Wren is given one last chance to get him in line—or she’ll have to eliminate him. Wren has never disobeyed before and knows if she does, she’ll be eliminated, too. But she has also never felt as alive as she does around Callum.

The perfect soldier is done taking orders.’

As you may have noticed Dystopia is one of my favourite genres. I think it is relevant enough to our world that it makes you stop and think about how your actions may impact the future, and that is a really powerful thing.

Reboot is no different. A virus has swept America, killing a lot of people. Permanently. For others it’s not quite as permanent and they are ‘rebooted’ and come back to life. Children are more adaptable and when they reboot, they take orders and go to work for HARC. Adults aren’t so adaptable and their bodies and minds don’t react well to rebooting.

I found the internal politics in this book really interesting. The lengths people will go to to save themselves, and also the actions people are capable of to fight against the injustice. There is a smidge of romance that gradually develops throughout the story, and it felt necessary to counter some of the awful things that happen with that dash of hope. All in all excellent read and I’m looking forward to getting my hand on the next book!

 

Goals for 2015

My goals for this year are quite simple really. I don’t want a massive numerical goal as I’ve found that last year I didn’t really read any big books. Most of my books were 400 pages and under, and while that’s not a bad thing, I have a few big books that are screaming for my attention. So this year I’m going to read them! I have set my Goodreads challenge as 52.

Finishing a series. I love a good series marathon. For some reason last year I did a lot of flitting between different books. I currently have six complete series of books sitting on my shelves that I need to start. That should keep me busy for now!

Reading books I want to read. I know this sounds obvious, but in the book communities there is always something new coming out that everyone is talking about. I do enjoy being up to date with what’s out, and it’s kind of required for this blog, but at the same time I want to go back to discovering books on my own every now and then. There’s a real sense of achievement in finding a book that looks awesome, reading it without any preconceptions and forming an opinion without knowing what other people thought of it first. I have missed that.

Last but not least – Re-reading! This is a direct result of my first three points, I think. I only re-read one book last year, which is quite sad really. I love reading a favourite book again, it takes me to a happy place. Feeling the need to read as much as possible has been a bit of an obstacle recently, so that’s what I’m hoping to eliminate with these goals.

Leave a Reply

