Wednesday Wonderings.

Author – Kiera.

You might have noticed a pattern with the books I choose to review. I always write about books I loved or at least really enjoyed, and I think there are two reasons for this. The first reason is that I pick books that I’m fairly sure I will enjoy, which is normally determined by it’s genre, author, by recommendations or more importantly my mood. I can’t read Contemporary if I’m in the mood for Dystopian. It just won’t stick. Is anyone else like this?

The second reason is that I have a hard time writing negatively about something that someone has poured their heart and soul into. Reading is so subjective and personal, and while everyone is entitled to their opinion I just don’t feel comfortable with publicly bashing someone’s work. We were talking about this earlier and Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl was the example. I don’t like thrillers/crime/anything gory/anything scary. I have nothing against any of these things, I’m just a bit of a marshmallow. So I didn’t particularly enjoy Gone Girl. I thought it was well written, and excellently structured so I no idea what was going to happen, but it just didn’t float my boat. So my reading experience was tainted by my own personal traits and preferences and that in turn was reflected in my rating of the book. I guess that’s why being part of a book club is good. It diversifies your reading habits in ways you couldn’t do on your own, and I’m grateful for that. It also means I have to learn how to voice an opinion about certain books that might not be as positive as if I’d picked the book myself.

We all have opinions, and they might be right and they might not, but I think as long as they are discussed respectfully then it’s not a bad thing. Plus chances are you’ll probably learn something new along the way.

Leave a Reply

