Friday Favourites – Worlds We’d Like to Live In

Author – Laura

I don’t know about you, but I’m happiest with a book in my hand, being transported to somewhere far, far away, even just for half an hour. I love books that take you on a journey, and introduce you to strange and fantastic new worlds and characters.

I’ve picked three of my favourite fantasy locations, and there are a few similarities between them; I think I might like a touch of the whimsical!

Lothlórien – Middle Earth

Lothlorien

Lothlórien is a forest located next to the lower Misty Mountains, ruled by Celeborn and Galadriel and featured in both the Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit. Legolas himself said “That is the fairest of all the dwellings of my people”. This place is pure magic – tree houses, elves, tranquillity, music, light… Life would be so peaceful and calm, everyone would be ethereally beautiful and I could sleep in a house like this.

Narnia

Narnia

Words cannot describe how much I want to live in a land where animals can talk to you. If I could have a super power it would be to communicate with animals. In Narnia all the animals talk. I am excited just thinking about it. I love the snow and ice, and the mix of real and surreal. The lamppost in the forest for example. Finding a magical world at the back of an old wardrobe is a hope that has stuck with me from childhood – I still have to have a sneaky check, just in case.

Neverland

neverland

There are mermaids and pirates, they never get old and if you believe, (with a little fairy dust) you can fly. AND, if you’re a Lost Boy, you get to live in a den! I’m not actually sure it gets any better than that. Saying that, I always feel there is an undercurrent of sadness throughout all the iterations of Neverland, so I think I’d like to go there on a holiday, rather than become a permanent resident!

Leave a Reply

