Book Review – The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke

The Assassin's Curse (The Assassin's Curse, #1)

Ananna of the Tanarau abandons ship when her parents try to marry her off to another pirate clan. But that only prompts the scorned clan to send an assassin after her. When Ananna faces him down one night, armed with magic she doesn’t really know how to use, she accidentally activates a curse binding them together.

To break the spell, Ananna and the assassin must complete three impossible tasks–all while grappling with evil wizards, floating islands, haughty manticores, runaway nobility, strange magic…and the growing romantic tension between them.

Pirates and Assassins. Do I need to say more? Well alright then, you’ve twisted my arm!

As you might have noticed, this book is about pirates and assassins! How cool is that! This book had me from page one, and I finished it in a day. The first line is ‘I ain’t never been one to trust beautiful people, and Tarrin of the Hariri was the most beautiful man I ever saw.‘ I love the writing style, it makes me feel like I’m a pirate, and who doesn’t want to be a pirate! We follow two main characters through the story, Ananna (the Pirate) and Naji (the assassin) and it’s written from Ananna’s point of view. I really love both of these characters. They are completely different from one another, but then almost exactly the same too. They both have been brought up in environments in which each day is a fight for survival,  but they deal with things in their own unique ways.
Ananna is very forward with her feelings and quick to throw a punch, where as Naji is used to appraising the situation and hiding in shadows. So when they are forced together by the curse it’s interesting to see how they work as a team. Their relationship is tentative but you can feel the bond between them slowly growing and it’s wonderful.

The magic system was so fun to read about. I loved how different people in the book could draw power from different places depending on the magic they use. The fight scenes in this book were awesome! Nothing like some swashbuckling pirates with their swords and muskets battling it out on deck.
The only thing I would have changed with this book would have been the addition on a map. There is a lot of traveling around by land and sea, and I think a map would have helped me get my bearings in the world a bit better.

I don’t want to say too much more about this book, because it’s not a very long and I don’t want to ruin it for you. I really hope that you give it a read though. It is brilliant fantasy and definitely worth the read.

commission,The Assassin's Curse by may12324

I found this picture on pinterest and it is the perfect image I had for the characters. The link to the original image is – http://may12324.deviantart.com/art/commission-The-Assassin-s-Curse-480759309

Leave a Reply

