A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas.

ACOTAR

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Author- Kiera.

This book had been on my radar for a while. I am a massive fan of re-tellings, and really enjoy seeing where a new perspective can take the story. That being said, this didn’t really come across as a re-telling. I can see how the idea may have been inspired by Beauty and the Beast with a few similarities sprinkled throughout, but that is as far as it went for me. Not that it’s a bad thing, I LOVED this book!

There were so many elements of this book that made it so enjoyable for me. The characters are the biggest factor. I don’t think there was a character that I didn’t like. Even the smaller characters had depth and I could relate to each one.

The other aspect that kept me reading was the world building. Sarah J. Maas does such a wonderful job of creating an ethereal land that I had pictured perfectly in my mind. Also, it has a map, and I do love a map. I loved the setting – the forest, the parties, the food, the creatures.

Feyre is my kind of girl. She made a promise to look after her family, and she does that by going out and getting her hands dirty, doing what would be perceived as the man’s job. She has her short comings, but doesn’t let them hold her back. She is feisty, stubborn, and does what she wants even when it gets her in trouble. She found herself in a few sticky situations because of this, but instead of playing the victim and waiting for someone to save her she saves herself.

Tamlin is my newest book boyfriend. He is the perfect blend of gentleman and not so gentle man – if you know what I mean. He is such a tormented soul, and the kind of character you just want to see have a happy ending. Wherever Tamlin is, Lucien won’t be far behind. Lucien is the kind of friend that everyone should be lucky enough to have. He’s loyal, sarcastic, extremely funny and would literally lay down his life for his friends. Then there is Rhysand. He is the character that you really want to hate, but just can’t.

As you can probably tell, I enjoyed this book. The only thing I would say I didn’t get was that Tamlin wasn’t a beast. He could shape-shift, sure, but who wouldn’t fall in love with a beautiful High Fae with magic and a rose covered mansion? It took some of the magic away from the romance for me.

Leave a Reply

